Penguins Announce 2020-21 Regular Season Schedule


The Pittsburgh #Penguins will open their 2020-21 regular season on January 13th in Philadelphia vs the #Flyers. See the full regular schedule below or grab the printable version - HERE.

Key season dates:

  • Jan. 3 - Training camp opens
  • Jan. 13 - 2020-21 regular season begins
  • April 12 - Trade deadline (3PM ET)
  • May 8 - Last day of regular season
  • May 11 - Stanley Cup Playoffs begin*
  • July 9 - Last possible day of Stanley Cup Final*

*Subject to adjustment

All games can be heard on The Radio Home of the Penguins, 105.9 The X!

2020-21 Regular Season Schedule
(Home games are BOLD)

  • Wednesday, January 13, 2021 @ Philadelphia
  • Friday, January 15, 2021 @ Philadelphia
  • Sunday, January 17, 2021 vs Washington
  • Tuesday, January 19, 2021 vs Washington
  • Friday, January 22, 2021 vs N.Y. Rangers
  • Sunday, January 24, 2021 vs N.Y. Rangers
  • Tuesday, January 26, 2021 @ Boston
  • Thursday, January 28, 2021 @ Boston
  • Saturday, January 30, 2021 @ N.Y. Rangers
  • Monday, February 1, 2021 @ N.Y. Rangers
  • Tuesday, February 2, 2021 vs New Jersey
  • Thursday, February 4, 2021 vs New Jersey
  • Saturday, February 6, 2021 @ N.Y. Islanders
  • Tuesday, February 9, 2021 @ New Jersey
  • Thursday, February 11, 2021 @ N.Y. Islanders
  • Sunday, February 14, 2021 vs Washington
  • Tuesday, February 16, 2021 vs Washington
  • Thursday, February 18, 2021 vs N.Y. Islanders
  • Saturday, February 20, 2021 vs N.Y. Islanders
  • Tuesday, February 23, 2021 @ Washington
  • Thursday, February 25, 2021 @ Washington
  • Saturday, February 27, 2021 @ N.Y. Islanders
  • Sunday, February 28, 2021 @ N.Y. Islanders
  • Tuesday, March 2, 2021 vs Philadelphia
  • Thursday, March 4, 2021 vs Philadelphia
  • Sunday, March 7, 2021 vs N.Y. Rangers
  • Tuesday, March 9, 2021 vs N.Y. Rangers
  • Thursday, March 11, 2021 @ Buffalo
  • Saturday, March 13, 2021 @ Buffalo
  • Monday, March 15, 2021 vs Boston
  • Tuesday, March 16, 2021 vs Boston
  • Friday, March 19, 2021 @ New Jersey
  • Sunday, March 21, 2021 @ New Jersey
  • Wednesday, March 24, 2021 vs Buffalo
  • Saturday, March 27, 2021 vs Buffalo
  • Monday, March 29, 2021 vs N.Y. Islanders
  • Tuesday, March 30, 2021 vs N.Y. Islanders
  • Thursday, April 1, 2021 @ Boston
  • Saturday, April 3, 2021 @ Boston
  • Tuesday, April 6, 2021 @ N.Y. Rangers
  • Thursday, April 8, 2021 @ N.Y. Rangers
  • Sunday, April 11, 2021 @ New Jersey
  • Tuesday, April 13, 2021 vs Philadelphia
  • Thursday, April 15, 2021 vs Philadelphia
  • Saturday, April 17, 2021 @ Buffalo
  • Tuesday, April 20, 2021 @ Buffalo
  • Thursday, April 22, 2021 vs New Jersey
  • Saturday, April 24, 2021 vs New Jersey
  • Sunday, April 25, 2021 vs Boston
  • Tuesday, April 27, 2021 vs Boston
  • Thursday, April 29, 2021 @ Washington
  • Saturday, May 1, 2021 @ Washington
  • Monday, May 3, 2021 @ Philadelphia
  • Tuesday, May 4, 2021 @ Philadelphia
  • Thursday, May 6, 2021 vs Buffalo
  • Saturday, May 8, 2021 vs Buffalo

Press Release

Penguins Announce 2020-21 Regular Season Schedule

The Pittsburgh Penguins will open their 2020-21 regular season on January 13 in Philadelphia, as they take on the Flyers in their first season opener against their cross-state rival since 2013. The Penguins’ 2020-21 season is presented by UPMC.

The full 56-game schedule, which can be viewed here, will look a little different than Pittsburgh’s traditional schedule due to the NHL’s division realignment for the 2020-21 season.

The Penguins will be competing in the newly-formed East Division along with the Boston Bruins, Buffalo Sabres, New Jersey Devils, New York Islanders, New York Rangers, Philadelphia Flyers and Washington Capitals. As a result, Pittsburgh will face the other seven teams in the East Division eight times, with four games in Pittsburgh and four matchups on the road, for a total of 56 games.

After two season-opening games in Philadelphia on Jan. 13 & 15, the Penguins will return to PPG Paints Arena for its home opener on Jan. 17 to face Alex Ovechkin and the Washington Capitals.

The Penguins’ home opener begins a four-game home stand, one of five this season, which includes two games versus Washington and two matchups against 2020 first overall pick Alexis Lafreniere and the New York Rangers.

Pittsburgh’s season includes 26 sets of games where the Penguins will be playing the same opponent in two-consecutive games, and also features six sets of back-to-back contests.

The Penguins hit the road nine times this season, with their longest road trip occurring April 1-11 during a five-game road trip to Boston, New York (Rangers) and New Jersey.

Game times and broadcast information will be announced at a later date. Below are a few other key dates for the upcoming season:

  • Jan. 3 - Training camp opens
  • Jan. 13 - 2020-21 regular season begins
  • April 12 - Trade deadline (3PM ET)
  • May 8 - Last day of regular season
  • May 11 - Stanley Cup Playoffs begin*
  • July 9 - Last possible day of Stanley Cup Final*

*Subject to adjustment

The Penguins will be excited to welcome fans back to PPG Paints arena when permitted by state and local safety and arena-capacity protocols. 

Penguins season ticket holders and suite holders will receive priority access to available tickets, likely by a lottery system. Full details will be communicated directly to season ticket holders and suite holders.

Image Courtesy of Getty Images